another year and a half later…….

Obviously I am not a blog writer and obviously I am not very good at learning languages. But one thing this blog shows is that at least I am persistent 🙂

So what languages am I working on now?

First I have the Duo languages I am currently trying to do each day: Hebrew, Russian, Hungarian, Korean and Turkish. Korean and Hungarian I recently re-started as my daughter is about to go to Hungary and we might have some more Korean connections, so I am still very much in the beginning.

I really like Lord of the Rings by Tolkien, so have been using that for audio input. I now am quite comfortable following the Turkish version. I have also been working with the Mongolian version but find that still very difficult. But as I listen over and over again, I am able to follow the story line somewhat and identify individual words. Still a long time from understanding Mongolian, but I will keep plugging away at it.

I recently downloaded the Russian and Hungarian audio for LOTR as well, and the text files, so will work with those as time permits. And the text file in Hebrew, though I have no audio files for that.

Having text files for these languages of material I enjoy has been very helpful. I take a chapter and put it in Learning with Texts. I really like that program.

I also follow Russian with Max and Piece of Hebrew, two vlogs for language learners. Both seem to speak regular speed and talk about regular topics. There are subtitles so I find them quite helpful. And Turkish podcasts.

For Hebrew I also listen a lot to Hebrew songs and try to learn them. A very fun way to learn 🙂 And I work with a book of stories as well as trying to become more fluent with the cursive handwriting.

I often have trouble focussing or thinking clearly these days, esp. after I came down with some weird bug about a month ago. I am hoping my brain fog improves and I can do more in depth study. But till then I am on maintenance, trying to do some Duo lingo each day and doing lots of passive listening. And just keep on pressing on.

These are the main languages I am working on, but from time to time I listen to or read Uyghur or work some with Chinese. I also started Duo lingo Yiddish but ran out of time and I still want to learn todo and Mongol bichig. Eventually, after these other ones are under my belt, Latin and ancient Greek. But we’ll see.

About 4everlanguagelearner

I am a middle aged mom of 10 that has a very longstanding desire to learn the languages of the people I live among. I am native-like in English and Dutch, know German quite well, studied French, Uyghur, Kazakh, Chinese and Mongolian and don't know any of those (yet). But miracles can happen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment